July 2003
Bharat Ruperelia
ACDM POSITION
ACDM Chair of the Postgraduate Qualification Sub-Committee
COMPANY POSITION
Outsourcing Consultant, Pfizer
Provide a brief summary of your life/education etc to date
Born in sunny Uganda and educated in UK. Pharmacology graduate and first job was in Warner Lambert as CDM. Joined Pfizer during early Diflucan development and worked as CDM from FIM to regulatory approval on Zithromax program. Lead the Outsourced Viagra DM component working with CRO. Implemented patient electronic diaries with a clinical program and currently I am an outsourcing consultant for the DM activities.
ACDM Chair of the Postgraduate Qualification Sub-Committee. One of the most rewarding tasks was revalidation of the course and another is seeing a number of students obtaining their qualifications and advancing in their career.
If you were on a desert island, what three things would you take?
My laptop that works on solar power. In the last few years, the laptop has become an extension of my body and without it, I feel half a person! – Sad. War and Peace. Always wanted to read however the size always put me off. A Swiss pocketknife for survival that has scissors to cut my toe nails.
What has been your greatest achievement to date?
Become a father (this was before working on the Viagra program!)
What word or phrase do you most over use?
Never say 'Never'.
If you were not in the job you are in, what would you do?
Travel the world and meet the locals to understand better the human behaviors.
If you could be remembered for something what would it be?
A colleague who can be trusted.
What lesson has life taught you so far?
The World is never stable and should learn to change with time.
What is your idea of perfect happiness?
Not to think about where my next meal is coming from.
What is your greatest fear?
Snakes, just a picture makes me sweat.
What makes you depressed?
When I unknowingly upset people.
Where would you like to be in 5 years?
In a sunny African country where I had spent my childhood.
What makes you happy?
A smile on my daughter's face.
What do you do to relax / what are your hobbies?
Spending time with the family